Oklahoma Homeschool Requirements

No state oversight

Everything Oklahoma asks of homeschool families, organized by topic. Each point links to the official source we drew it from.

Topics:
12
Last reviewed:
June 4, 2026
Funding programs:
0 state · 3 national

Notice / Letter of Intent

No state oversight

Requirements to notify the state or local district of intent to homeschool.

Oklahoma does not require parents to file any notice or registration with the state or local school district to begin homeschooling. Homeschools are classified as 'other means of education' under Oklahoma law and operate with minimal government oversight. No annual notification is required.

More detail

Oklahoma's compulsory attendance statute, 70 Okla. Stat. §10-105, exempts children who are educated by 'other means of education' from compulsory public school attendance, without requiring any prior approval or notification to state or local authorities. The Oklahoma Supreme Court and Attorney General opinions have consistently held that homeschooling qualifies as 'other means of education.' No registration, filing, or approval is required at the state, county, or local level. This makes Oklahoma one of the least regulated states for homeschooling in the nation. Parents simply begin homeschooling without any formal governmental interaction.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Required Subjects

No state oversight

Subjects the state mandates be taught.

Oklahoma does not specify required subjects for home education. Parents have complete freedom to choose the curriculum and subjects they teach. The only implicit requirement is that education be 'equivalent' in some general sense, though this is not strictly enforced.

More detail

Oklahoma's homeschool statute, 70 Okla. Stat. §10-105, does not specify any required subjects for home education. The phrase 'other means of education' has been interpreted broadly by courts and the Attorney General to give parents wide latitude in curriculum selection. There is no state oversight body reviewing homeschool curricula. Oklahoma Attorney General opinions have confirmed that the state has no authority to dictate the specific subjects or curriculum used in homeschools. While the statute does not define what constitutes adequate 'other means of education,' the absence of enforcement mechanisms means parents effectively choose all subjects freely.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Instructional Days / Hours

No state oversight

Minimum instructional days or hours per year.

Oklahoma does not impose any minimum instructional hours or school day requirements on home educators. There is no statute or regulation specifying how many hours per day or days per year a home-educated child must receive instruction.

More detail

Oklahoma's homeschool statute, 70 Okla. Stat. §10-105, contains no minimum hours of instruction requirement for home education. The state's public school hour requirements under 70 Okla. Stat. §18-101.1 do not apply to homeschools. There is no state agency with authority to set or enforce instructional hour minimums for home educators. Parents have complete discretion over the schedule and total hours of instruction. This contrasts sharply with states like Ohio and Pennsylvania that impose 900-hour minimums.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Assessment / Testing

No state oversight

Standardized testing, portfolio review, or other assessment requirements.

Oklahoma does not require home-educated students to take any standardized tests or submit to any formal assessment. There is no mandatory testing or portfolio review requirement for homeschoolers in Oklahoma.

More detail

Unlike many states, Oklahoma imposes no assessment requirements on home-educated students. 70 Okla. Stat. §10-105 contains no testing mandate, and no other Oklahoma statute or administrative rule requires home-educated children to be assessed. There is no requirement to submit test scores or portfolio materials to any government agency. Parents may choose to administer standardized tests for their own educational planning purposes, but this is entirely voluntary. The absence of assessment requirements is consistent with Oklahoma's overall approach of minimal regulation of home education.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Recordkeeping / Portfolio

No state oversight

Records, attendance logs, or portfolios the family must maintain.

Oklahoma does not require home-educating parents to maintain any records or submit documentation to any government agency. Recordkeeping is entirely at the discretion of the parent. There is no state law mandating record retention for homeschools.

More detail

Oklahoma's minimal homeschool regulation includes no recordkeeping requirements. 70 Okla. Stat. §10-105 does not require parents to maintain attendance records, instructional logs, or student work samples. No state agency has authority to request or review home education records. While prudent parents may choose to maintain records for college admissions or other purposes, this is purely voluntary under Oklahoma law. This stands in stark contrast to states like Pennsylvania, which require extensive documentation and portfolio submission.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Parent Qualifications

No state oversight

Education level, certification, or other qualifications required of the teaching parent.

Oklahoma imposes no educational or credential requirements on parents who wish to homeschool their children. Any parent or guardian may provide home education regardless of their own educational background or qualifications.

More detail

Oklahoma statute 70 Okla. Stat. §10-105 contains no qualifications requirements for home educators. Parents are not required to hold a high school diploma, GED, college degree, or teaching certificate of any kind. This is one of the most permissive approaches to parent qualifications among all U.S. states. The state's position is that parents have a constitutional and statutory right to direct the education of their children without government interference in the form of credential requirements. This approach reflects Oklahoma's broader philosophy of minimal government regulation of home education.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Immunization / Health

No state oversight

Immunization, vision/hearing screening, or health requirements for homeschooled students.

Oklahoma's school immunization requirements apply to children enrolled in public or private schools and do not apply to home-educated children. Home educators are not required to submit immunization records to any government agency.

More detail

Oklahoma's school immunization statute, 70 Okla. Stat. §1210.191, requires children enrolled in public or private schools to meet immunization requirements before attending. However, because home-educated children are classified as receiving education by 'other means' and are not enrolled in school, these requirements do not apply to them. Oklahoma also provides a religious exemption to immunization requirements under 70 Okla. Stat. §1210.192 for those enrolled in school. Home educators face no immunization reporting requirements whatsoever. Oklahoma also enacted HB 2696 in 2020 strengthening parental rights regarding immunization decisions.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Special Needs / IEP

Low regulation

Provisions for students with disabilities or IEPs in a homeschool setting.

Home-educated children with disabilities in Oklahoma are not automatically entitled to special education services from public school districts. Public school districts retain child find obligations under federal IDEA, but home-educated children may not receive the same services as enrolled students.

More detail

Federal law (IDEA, 20 U.S.C. §1412) requires states to identify and evaluate all children with disabilities, including those who are home educated. Oklahoma school districts must conduct child find activities that include home-educated children. However, once a parent chooses home education, the child is not automatically entitled to a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) from the district. Under Oklahoma's homeschool statute at 70 Okla. Stat. §10-105, home-educated students are treated as privately educated students, which affects their eligibility for public special education services. Parents seeking special education services should contact their local school district.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Withdrawal / Enrollment

Low regulation

Process to withdraw from public school or formally enroll as a homeschool student.

Oklahoma parents who wish to withdraw their child from public school to homeschool simply stop sending their child to school and notify the school that they are providing education by other means. No formal approval process is required.

More detail

Because Oklahoma does not require registration or notification for home education, the withdrawal process is straightforward. Parents typically inform the school in writing that they are withdrawing their child to educate by other means under 70 Okla. Stat. §10-105. The school is then obligated to mark the student as withdrawn and cannot pursue truancy charges. Re-enrollment in public school follows standard district procedures, with grade placement determined by the school. Providing evidence of the child's academic progress may be requested upon re-enrollment. Some districts may ask for academic records or portfolio materials, but this is not required by state law.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Compulsory Education Age

Low regulation

Age range during which education is compulsory.

Oklahoma's compulsory attendance law requires children ages 5 through 18 to attend school or receive equivalent education. Home education satisfies this requirement under the 'other means of education' exemption in 70 Okla. Stat. §10-105.

More detail

Oklahoma Statutes Title 70 §10-105 establishes compulsory school attendance for children between the ages of 5 and 18. However, the statute explicitly exempts children who are educated by other means, which encompasses home education. Parents of children ages 5-18 who choose to homeschool their children are satisfying the compulsory attendance requirement. Children under 5 are not subject to compulsory attendance requirements. The compulsory attendance age of 5 is lower than most states (which typically begin at age 6), reflecting Oklahoma's emphasis on early education. Truancy laws apply to children in this age range who are not receiving education by any recognized means.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Graduation / Diploma

No state oversight

Rules around issuing a homeschool diploma or equivalent.

Oklahoma does not issue diplomas to home-educated students through the state. Parents may issue their own home school diploma or transcript. Home-educated students may take the GED examination to obtain a state-recognized credential.

More detail

Oklahoma public school graduation requirements are set forth in 70 Okla. Stat. §11-103.6 but apply only to public school students. Home-educated students in Oklahoma are not required to meet these requirements and the state does not issue them a diploma. Parents may issue a private home school diploma that can be used for college admissions and employment. Home-educated students seeking additional credentials may take the GED exam administered by the Oklahoma State Department of Career and Technology Education. Several Oklahoma colleges and universities have specific admissions procedures for home-educated applicants, often accepting parent-prepared transcripts, SAT/ACT scores, and portfolios.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Whether homeschooled students may participate in public school sports or activities.

Oklahoma does not have a statewide law granting home-educated students the right to participate in public school extracurricular activities or interscholastic athletics. Participation is left to the discretion of individual school districts. The Oklahoma Secondary School Activities Association (OSSAA) has eligibility rules that typically require school enrollment.

More detail

Unlike Ohio, Oklahoma has not enacted a law requiring public schools to allow home-educated students to participate in extracurricular activities or interscholastic athletics. The Oklahoma Secondary School Activities Association (OSSAA) governs high school athletics and generally requires students to be enrolled full-time in the school whose team they wish to join. Individual school districts may choose to allow home-educated students to participate in certain activities, but this is not mandated by state law. Some districts allow participation in band, chorus, or other non-competitive activities on a case-by-case basis. Home-educating families seeking athletic participation should contact their local school district directly.

Verified June 4, 2026
Sources:

Funding programs for Oklahoma families

All funding →

Curiosity Harbor doesn't award or administer any of these. We track them so you can apply directly with the funder.

National programs

  • Jack Kent Cooke College Scholarship

    Jack Kent Cooke Foundation · Scholarship · National

    High school seniors (homeschoolers eligible), minimum unweighted GPA 3.75, SAT/ACT/AP/IB scores required, maximum household income $95,000. Must apply during senior year (no gap years).

    Up to $55,000 · up to $55,000 per year, last-dollar award supplementing institutional aid

    Opens Invalid Date
    Verified June 3, 2026
    Official application →
  • HSLDA Curriculum Grant

    Home School Legal Defense Association (HSLDA) · Curriculum stipend · National

    Must hold current HSLDA membership, demonstrate significant financial need, have homeschooled at least one child (ages 6-19) for minimum 3 months, fund homeschool privately (no public funds or ESAs), and have legal custody.

    $300 – $400 · per child, may reapply annually

    Rolling enrollment
    Verified June 3, 2026
    Official application →
  • HSLDA Disaster Relief Grant

    Home School Legal Defense Association (HSLDA) · Disaster relief · National

    Must have suffered damage from a regional natural disaster within past 18 months, be homeschooling at least one child aged 6-19, privately fund schooling, and hold a free My HSLDA Account.

    Up to $650 · up to $650, delivered by check

    Rolling enrollment
    Verified June 3, 2026
    Official application →

Have a question about homeschooling in Oklahoma?

The assistant answers from these same requirements and cites the official source.

Ask Curiosity Harbor

This page is general information, not legal advice. Curiosity Harbor Foundation summarizes Oklahoma law from the sources cited above; statutes and agency guidance change. Confirm with the official source or your state education agency before making decisions for your family.

← All states